OTTAWA, Ontario, March 18, 2013 (LifeSiteNews.com) – A controversial bill that would add “gender identity” and “gender expression” to Canada’s Human Rights Act and Criminal Code will face the vote in the House of Commons this Wednesday. 

Critics say that if passed, Bill C-279 will effectively abolish society's understanding of male and female. 

The preamble to the bill states: “Gender Identity means, in respect of an individual, the individual’s deeply felt internal and individual experience of gender, which may or may not correspond with the sex that the individual was assigned at birth." 

Campaign Life Coalition has slammed the bill’s definition of gender as purely subjective.

“It is an ideological, and non-scientific definition that would abolish society's understanding of male and female, transforming it from an objective, physical reality, to a creation of our minds that can change from one day to the next,” the group stated.

Numerous pro-family organizations oppose the controversial bill, dubbing it the “bathroom bill” since it could give biological men a legal alibi to use women’s bathrooms, shower rooms, and changing rooms. They worry that such a bill will lead to an increase in sexual assaults. Their worry is not unfounded. 

Last November a college in Washington state decided it would not prevent a 45-year-old man who presents himself as a transgender “female” from lounging naked in a women’s locker room, in an area frequented by girls as young as six. Teenage girls on a high school swim team were using the facilities last September when they saw "Colleen" Francis exposing male genitalia through the glass window in a sauna.

Despite the left wing push for the bill in the name of "rights and equality," high ranking representatives from the Canadian Human Rights Commission (HRC) told the Canadian Justice Committee in December that the bill “strictly speaking…isn’t necessary”.

Click "like" if you want to defend true marriage.

HRC representative Ian Fine told the committee that “the commission, the tribunal, and the courts view gender identity and gender expression as protected by the Canadian Human Rights Act [CHRA].”

Conservative MPs have said that the bill is redundant since transgender individuals already enjoy Human Rights protection, because "sex" is already a prohibited ground of discrimination.

Canada Family Action says that Bill C-279 is “much more dangerous than it appears”.

The group argues that the bill would give predators of women and girls a “legal defense”; that it would force schools to teach gender curriculum in school that would cause “gender confusion in children”; and that it would jeopardize businesses, organizations, and individuals who could “unknowingly commit Human Rights and/or Criminal Code Violations if they fail to offer ‘gender neutral’ facilities”.

Campaign Life Coalition expects that if the bill passes in the house, then it will sail through the Senate as well.

“Then Canada's laws will actually affirm and promote the dangerous philosophy that a biological male can actually be a woman, if he simply feels that way in his mind. The law will send the message to all in society that one's physical anatomy is irrelevant to whether you are a boy or a girl.” 

“Politicians, by passing Bill C-279, would unleash unintended consequences that are seriously damaging to freedom of speech, freedom of religion, the personal security of women and even to the individuals who suffer with the psychological problem known as Gender Identity Disorder (GID).” 

Canada Family Action is urging concerned Canadians to contact their MPs and tell them to vote against Bill C-279 “before it's too late”. The group is also urging people to contact the 16 Conservative MPs who did not vote on the bill last year when it passed its second reading. 

“Their absence allowed Bill C-279 to pass 2nd reading with the help of the 15 Conservative MPs who voted to support it,” wrote Brian Rushfeldt, CFA president, in a press release. 

“Pick up your phone right now and call one of the Conservative MPs who didn't even vote on the Gender/Bathroom Bill and tell them to stand up for the women and girls in their riding by voting NO to Bill C-279.” 

The Conservative MPs who failed to vote on the bill are the following:

John Baird - Ottawa West - Nepean - 613-990-7720 - bairdj@parl.gc.ca
Ryan Leef - Yukon - 867-668-6565 - ryan.leef@parl.gc.ca
Ed Fast - Abbotsford - 604-557-7888 - ed@edfast.ca
Ed Komarnicki - Souris - Moose Mountain - 306-634-3000 - komare@parl.gc.ca
Diane Ablonczy - Calgary - Nose Hill - 403-282-7980 - calgary@ablonczy.com
Colin Mayes - Okanagan - Shuswap - 250-260-5020 - colin.mayes@parl.gc.ca
Peter Goldring - Edmonton East - 780-495-3261 - goldrp1@parl.gc.ca (Independent Conservative)
Stephen Woodworth - Kitchener Centre - 519-741-2001 - stephen.woodworth@parl.gc.ca
Rona Ambrose - Edmonton - Spruce Grove - 780-495-7705 - rona.ambrose.c1a@parl.gc.ca
Maxime Bernier - Beauce - 418-227-2171 - bernim1a@parl.gc.ca
Deepak Obhrai - Calgary East - 403-207-3030 - obhrad@parl.gc.ca
Pierre Poilievre - Nepean - Carleton - 613-990-4300 - pierre.poilievre@parl.gc.ca
James Moore - Port Moody - Westwood - Port Coquitlam - 604-937-5650 - james.moore@parl.gc.ca
Steven Blaney - Lévis—Bellechasse - 418-830-0500 - blanes1b@parl.gc.ca
Kellie Leitch - Simcoe - Grey - 705-435-1809 - kellie.leitch@parl.gc.ca
 

The Conservative MPs who supported the bill are the following:

Shelly Glover - Saint Boniface - 204-983-3183 - shelly@shellyglover.ca
Lisa Raitt - Halton - 905-693-0166 - lisa.raitt@parl.gc.ca
Bruce Stanton - Simcoe North - 705-327-0513 - bruce.stanton.c1d@parl.gc.ca
Bernard Valcourt - Madawaska Restigouche - 506-739-4600 - bernard.valcourt@parl.gc.ca
Cathy McLeod - Kamloops Thompson - 250-851-4991 - cathy.mcleod.c1@parl.gc.ca
Chris Alexander - Ajax Pickering - 905-426-6808 - chris.alexander@parl.gc.ca
Kerry-Lynne Findlay - Delta Richmond - 604-940-8040 - kerry-lynne.findlay@parl.gc.ca
Laurie Hawn - Edmonton Centre - 780-442-1888 - laurie.hawn.c1@parl.gc.ca
Gerald Keddy - South Shore St Margaret - 902-637-3945 - keddyg@ns.sympatico.ca
David Wilks - Kootenay Columbia - 250-417-2250 - david.wilks@parl.gc.ca
Bernard Trottier - Etobicoke Lake - 416-251-5510 - bernard.trottier@parl.gc.ca
Michelle Rempel - Calgary Centre North - 403-216-7777 - michelle.rempel@parl.gc.ca
John Duncan - Vancouver Island North - 250-338-9381 - john.duncan@parl.gc.ca
Jim Flaherty - Whitby Oshawa - 905-665-8182 - jim@jimflahertymp.ca
Michael Chong - Wellington Halton Hills - 519-843-7344 - michael.chong@parl.gc.ca

Visit Campaign Life Coalition's website to learn more about the implications of Bill C-279.