OTTAWA, Sept. 26, 2012 (LifeSiteNews.com) – Stephen Woodworth’s pro-life motion failed in a recorded vote Wednesday, going down 91-203.

As promised, Prime Minister Stephen Harper voted against it, but there were also a number of surprise votes in favour.

Woodworth, a Tory MP for Kitchener Centre, had hoped to launch a special committee to re-examine section 223 of Canada’s Criminal Code, which stipulates that a child only becomes a human being once he or she has fully proceeded from the womb. But pro-life legislators must now head back to the drawing board.

Nevertheless, pro-life leaders have hailed the initiative as a success because of the overwhelming amount of media coverage and interest it sparked in the last few months.

(Click “like” if you want to end abortion! )

Jim Hughes, National President of Campaign Life Coalition told LifeSiteNews that the motion was “quite valuable” to the pro-life cause. “It’s been a tremendous effort right across the country,” he said. “It was a very sensible type of motion that unfortunately was ignored or dumped upon by people who don’t want anything at all that’s even remotely connected to abortion. We saw that with Rod Bruinooge’s bill on coercion and Leon Benoit’s on unborn victims of crime.”

The motion fared slightly worse than the most recent pro-life initiative before it – Rod Bruinooge’s Roxanne’s Law, which sought to ban the coercion of women into abortion. That bill was defeated 97-178 in a second reading vote on December 15, 2010.

The vast majority of the 91 votes in favour came from the Conservative benches, and the Opposition NDP opposed it unanimously. But there were four Liberal MPs who supported it: John McKay, Jim Karygiannis, Kevin Lamoureux, and Lawrence MacAulay.

All party leaders opposed Motion 312, including Prime Minister Stephen Harper, who reportedly pressured Conservative MPs to vote against it even though the party ultimately allowed a free vote for both backbench MPs and Ministers.

It did win support from a number of Tory Ministers, despite Harper’s pressure tactics, however. They included: Diane Ablonczy, Rona Ambrose, Peter Van Loan, Gerry Ritz, Julian Fantino (who had voted against Roxanne’s Law), Peter Penashue, Ed Fast and Jason Kenney.

Two Ministers who have been rated pro-life by Campaign Life Coalition voted against the motion: Gary Goodyear and Rob Nicholson.

“I’m calling on people across the country to take a very close look at how their MPs voted on this,” said Hughes. “We’ll be getting together with them to develop a strategy to replace those MPs.”

Though Woodworth framed the initiative as merely a scientific study into the humanity of the unborn, critics lambasted it as a “backdoor” attempt to renew debate on abortion and ultimately re-criminalize the deadly procedure.

In the second hour of debate on Friday, both Liberal and New Democrat opponents expressed incredulity that the issue was even being raised.

New Democrat MP Irene Mathyssen (London-Fanshawe) said she was “offended” by the motion, describing it as a “slap in the face” to women.

But Woodworth says section 223 is a 400-year-old law inherited from Britain and should be brought up to date with the medical advances of the last century.

“It would be a triumph of leadership to insist that our definition of human being must not remain frozen in time forever, immune from the light of advancing knowledge, immune from democratic governance, and immune from the spirit of open dialogue,” he said.

As it is, the law “decrees the dehumanization and exclusion of a whole class of people, children before complete birth,” Woodworth said.

Contact information for all those who voted for the motion:

Diane.Ablonczy@parl.gc.ca Twitter: n/a
Harold.Albrecht@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @AlbrechtMP
Mike.Allen@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @mpmika
Stella.Ambler@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @StellaAmbler
Rona.Ambrose@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @MinRonaAmbrose
Rob.Anders@parl.gc.ca Twitter: n/a
David.Anderson@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @DavidAndersonSK
Dean.Allison@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @DeanAllisonMP
Leon.Benoit@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @vwriding
Candice.Bergen@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @CandiceBergenMP
James.Bezan@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @jamesbezan
Kelly.Block@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @KellyBlockCPC
Ray.Boughen@parl.gc.ca Twitter: n/a
Garry.Breitkreuz@parl.gc.ca Twitter: n/a
Patrick.Brown@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @brownbarrie
Gordon Brown - gord.brown.c1@parl.gc.ca Twitter: n/a
Lois.Brown@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @MPLoisBrown
Rod.Bruinooge@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @rodbruinooge
Blaine.Calkins@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @blainecalkinsmp
Ron.Cannan@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @RonCannon
Colin.Carrie@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @ColinCarrie
Michael.Chong@parl.gc.ca Twitter: n/a
Rob.Clarke@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @Rob_Clarke_MP
Patricia Davidson - pat.davidson@parl.gc.ca Twitter: n/a
Dean.DelMastro@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @mpdeandelmastro
Barry.Devolin@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @BarryDevolin_MP
Earl.Dreeshen@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @earl_dreeshen
Julian.Fantino@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @JulianFantino
Ed.Fast@parl.gc.ca Twitter: n/a
Royal.Galipeau@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @GalipeauOrleans
Cheryl.Gallant@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @cherylgallant
Peter.Goldring@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @PeterGoldring
Nina.Grewal@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @MPNinaGrewal
Richard.Harris@parl.gc.ca Twitter: n/a
Bryan.Hayes@parl.gc.ca Twitter: n/a
Russ.Hiebert@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @HiebertRuss
Jim.Hillyer@parl.gc.ca Twitter: n/a
Laurie.Hawn@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @MPLaurieHawn
Roxanne.James@parl.gc.ca Twitter: n/a
Brian.Jean@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @BrianJean_MP
Randy.Kamp@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @RandyKampMP
Jim.Karygiannis@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @jimkarygiannis
Jason.Kenney@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @kenneyjason
Ed.Komarnicki@parl.gc.ca Twitter: n/a
Mike.Lake@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @MikeLakeMP
Kevin.Lamoureux@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @Kevin_Lamoureux
Guy.Lauzon@parl.gc.ca Twitter: n/a
Pierre.Lemieux@parl.gc.ca Twitter: n/a
Wladyslaw.Lizon@parl.gc.ca Twitter: n/a
Ben.Lobb@parl.gc.ca Twitter: n/a
Tom.Lukiwski@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @TomLukiwski
James.Lunney@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @jameslunneymp
Lawrence.MacAulay@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @L_MacAulayMP
Colin.Mayes@parl.gc.ca Twitter: n/a
Phil.McColeman@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @Phil4Brant
John.McKay@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @JohnMcKayLib
Rob.Merrifield@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @RobMerrifieldMP
Larry.Miller@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @M2McMullen
Rob.Moore@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @RobMoore_CPC
Rick.Norlock@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @RickNorlock
Tilly.O’NeillGordon - oneilt@parl.gc.ca Twitter: n/a
Ted.Opitz@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @TedOpitz
LaVar.Payne@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @LaVarMP
Peter.Penashue@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @PeterPenashue
Pierre.Poilievre@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @PierrePoilievre
James.Rajotte@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @JamesRajotte
Brent.Rathgeber@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @brentrathgeber
Gerry.Ritz@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @GerryRitzMP
Kyle.Seeback@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @KyleSeeback
Gail.Shea@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @CPCGailShea
Bev.Shipley@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @BevShipleyMP
Kevin.Sorenson@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @BevShipleyMP
Brian.Storseth@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @BrianStorsethMP
Mark.Strahl@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @markstrahl
David.Sweet@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @DavidSweetMP
Lawrence.Toet@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @votetoet
Brad.Trost@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @BradTrostCPC
Merv.Tweed@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @mervtweet
Bob.Zimmer@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @bobzimmermp
John.Williamson@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @j_dup_mp
Alice.Wong@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @AliceWongCanada
Stephen.Woodworth@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @WoodworthMP
Terence.Young@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @TerenceYoungMP
Rodney.Weston@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @rodneywestonsj
Mark.Warawa@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @MPmarkwarawa
Chris.Warkentin@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @chriswarkentin
Jeff.Watson@parl.gc.ca Twitter: n/a
John.Weston@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @JohnWestonMP
Dave.VanKesteren@parl.gc.ca Twitter: n/a
Peter.VanLoan@parl.gc.ca Twitter: n/a
Maurice.Vellacott@parl.gc.ca Twitter: @MVellacott

**See the complete official vote that also includes all those who voted NO on the Parliamentary website here. Clicking on each name also brings up the full contact information for each MP

Contact information for all Members of Parliament.