The press thinks, and Democrats hope, the controversy surrounding President Obama’s contraception mandate issue has dissipated.


It hasn’t.

I wrote yesterday a vote is anticipated any time now in the Senate on Senator Roy Blunt’s measure, the Respect for Rights of Conscience Act.

Meanwhile, Congressman Jeff Fortenberry has introduced similar legislation in the House.

Both bills have the bipartisan support of 220 Members of Congress and Senators.

Today Congressman Fortenberry and 49 House and Senate colleagues will hold a news conference at 1p EST to promote the legislation, “which would protect the religious liberty and conscience rights of every American who objects to being forced by the strong-arm of government to pay for drugs and procedures recently mandated by the Department of Health and Human Services.”

Here is the list of Members who plan to attend the press conference:

  Congressman Jeff Fortenberry, author of HR 1179, the Respect for Rights of Conscience Act

  Congresswoman Sandy Adams

  Congressman Robert Aderholt, Chairman of Appropriations Subcommittee on Homeland Security

  Congressman Todd Akin, Chairman of Armed Services Subcommittee on Sea Power Projection

  Congressman Steve Austria, House Appropriations Committee

  Congressman Spencer Bachus, Chairman of House Financial Services Committee

  Congressman Lou Barletta

  Congressman Rick Berg

  Congresswoman Diane Black, House Ways and Means Committee liaison to House Budget Committee

  Congressman Charles Boustany, Chairman of House Ways and Means Subcommittee on Oversight

  Congressman Kevin Brady, top Republican on the Joint Economic Committee, senior member of the House Ways & Means Committee

  Congresswoman Ann Marie Buerkle, Vice-Chairman of Oversight and Government Reform Subcommittee on Regulatory Affairs, Stimulus Oversight, and Spending

  Congressman Dan Burton, senior member of the House Oversight and Government Reform Committee

  Congressman Francisco ‘Quico’ Canseco

  Congressman Steve Chabot, Chairman of House Foreign Affairs Subcommittee on the Middle East and South Asia

  Congressman Sean Duffy

  Congresswoman Virginia Foxx, Chairman of House Subcommittee on Higher Education, member House Committees on Rules

  Congressman Phil Gingrey, Chairman of GOP Doctors’ Caucus, Chairman of Energy and Commerce Subcommittee on Oversight

  Congressman Louie Gohmert, Vice-Chair of Judiciary Subcommittee on Crime, Terrorism, and Homeland Security

  Congressman Bob Goodlatte, Vice-Chairman of House Agriculture Committee

  Congressman Gregg Harper, Chairman of Fragile X Caucus, Chairman of House Administration Subcommittee on Elections

  Congresswoman Vicky Hartzler

  Congressman Tim Huelskamp

  Congressman Bill Huizenga

  Congressman Randy Hultgren

  Congressman Walter Jones

  Congressman Jack Kingston, Chairman of Agriculture Subcommittee on Rural Development and Food and Drug Administration

  Congressman Raul Labrador, Vice-Chairman of Oversight and Government Reform Subcommittee on National Security, Homeland Defense, and Foreign Operations

  Congressman Doug Lamborn, Chairman of House Natural Resources Subcommittee on Energy and Mineral Resources

  Congressman Jeff Landry

  Congressman Bob Latta

  Congressman Donald Manzullo, Chairman of House Foreign Affairs Subcommittee on Asia and the Pacific

  Congressman Mick Mulvaney, Chairman of Small Business Subcommittee on Contracting and Workforce

  Congressman Patrick McHenry, Chairman of Oversight and Government Reform Subcommittee on TARP, Financial Services, and Bailouts of Public and Private Programs

  Congressman Jeff Miller, Chairman of House Committee on Veterans Affairs

  Congressman Alan Nunnelee

  Congressman Pete Roskam, Chief Deputy Whip for Republican House Caucus

  Congressman David Schweikert

  Congressman Jim Sensenbrenner, Vice-Chairman of Committee on Science, Space, and Technology

  Congressman Steve Scalise, author of House letter to Secretary of Health and Human Services Kathleen Sebelius on the mandate

  Congressman Bobby Schilling

  Congresswoman Jean Schmidt, Chairwoman of the Agriculture Subcommittee on Nutrition and Horticulture

  Congressman Tim Scott, Deputy Whip, Elected Leadership Committee

  Congressman Chris Smith, Co-Chairman of Pro-Life Caucus, Chairman of House Foreign Affairs Subcommittee on Africa, Global Health, and Human Rights

  Congressman Steve Southerland

  Congressman Marlin Stutzman, Deputy Whip for Republican House Caucus

  Congressman Lee Terry, Vice-Chairman on Energy and Commerce Subcommittee on Communications and Technology

  Congressman Glenn Thompson, Chairman of the Agriculture Subcommittee on Conservation, Energy, & Forestry

  Congressman Robert Turner

  Senator David Vitter

Reprinted with permission from


Commenting Guidelines

LifeSiteNews welcomes thoughtful, respectful comments that add useful information or insights. Demeaning, hostile or propagandistic comments, and streams not related to the storyline, will be removed.

LSN commenting is not for frequent personal blogging, on-going debates or theological or other disputes between commenters.

Multiple comments from one person under a story are discouraged (suggested maximum of three). Capitalized sentences or comments will be removed (Internet shouting).

LifeSiteNews gives priority to pro-life, pro-family commenters and reserves the right to edit or remove comments.

Comments under LifeSiteNews stories do not necessarily represent the views of LifeSiteNews.