By Tim Waggoner

OTTAWA, July 9, 2008 ( – The ever-increasing number of MPs who are speaking out against Dr. Henry Morgentaler’s induction into the Order of Canada is up to 22, with eight more having added their names to the list in recent days. 

Mike Allen, MP for Tobique-Mactaquac, addressed the “polarization” of Canadians since the controversial Canada Day announcement.

“It is hard to imagine any person who has polarized Canadians on a particular issue any more than Dr. Morgentaler has, and, as a result, I personally do not support his appointment,” said Allen.

Rob Moore, MP for Fundy Royal, NB, said the decision was a mistake that will debase the once honourable Order.

“I believe the panel was wrong to recommend Mr. Morgentaler for the Order of Canada and the Governor General was wrong to accept their recommendation. Mr. Morgentaler’s appointment to the Order of Canada will only diminish what should be a prestigious honour”.

“I am not supportive of this decision. Henry Morgentaler is a divisive figure who should not receive this honour,” finished the MP.

Brad Trost, MP for Saskatoon-Humboldt, said he is “strongly opposed to the abortionist Morgentaler getting the Order of Canada.”

“The Order of Canada should only be awarded to individuals whose service to our country is worthy of national recognition and praise. Henry Morgentaler does not deserve the Order of Canada,” Trost explained.  “Morgentaler’s so-called record of accomplishments is seen as reprehensible by many Canadians.”

Like MP Moore, he said the decision will diminish Canada’s highest civilian decoration.

Bev Shipley, MP for Lambton Kent Middlesex, said, “As one who firmly believes in the sanctity of human life, I am deeply troubled by the Advisory Council’s nomination of Henry Morgentaler for the Order of Canada.

“[The Order of Canada] is our country’s highest civilian honour for lifetime achievement…Mr. Morgentaler’s activities in Canada are not achievements, and I am certain his nomination will not enjoy the unanimous support of either the House of Commons or the Canadian public that this prestigious award has traditionally had,” stated Shipley.

The offices of Canada’s MPs are receiving a tremendous volume of phone calls and emails from constituents regarding the decision. Many MPs have made it known that the majority of their constituents are condemning Morgentaler’s appointment.

“I am as disappointed as the rest of my constituents to see this type of thing happen,” said Gerry Ritz, MP for Battlefords-Lloydminster. “Those Order of Canada situations are to strengthen the fabric of our country, not create division.”

Leon Benoit, MP for Vegreville-Wainwright, stated that his constituents are “very upset by it, anybody who talked to me, and I think they should be. Why would they choose someone who causes so much division in the country? Everything else aside it’s hard to imagine why they would do that.”

“And of course, I personally think it’s just a bad appointment,” Benoit added.

In a letter responding to a troubled constituent, Conservative MP Colin Carrie for Oshawa said, “Like you, I share your concerns and do not support this decision by the Governor General and her council.  I am greatly disappointed that Canada’s highest civilian honour has been politicized and debased by this appointment.”

  Carol Skelton, Conservative MP for Saskatoon-Rosetown-Biggar said of the Morgentaler decision, “I was disappointed when I heard it.”

She added, “If I was a recipient, I would give it back.”

The MPs say they appreciate the feedback from their constituents and are strongly encouraging Canadians to express their concerns to those responsible for the decision.

Important contact information can be found here:

List of Who to Call, E-Mail, Write to Get the Morgentaler Appointment Revoked

The following is a list of MPs who are known to have publicly spoken out against the decision to award the Order of Canada to Dr. Henry Morgentaler:

Conservative MP Jason Kenney, Calgary Southeast, Alberta
  Conservative MP Andrew Scheer, Regina-Qu’Appelle, Saskatchewan
  Conservative MP Ken Epp, Sherwood Park, Edmonton
  Conservative MP Rod Bruinooge, Winnipeg South, Manitoba
  Conservative MP Maurice Vellacott, Saskatoon-Wanuskewin, Saskatchewan
  Liberal MP Dan McTeague, Pickering-Scarborough East, Ontario
  Liberal MP Paul Steckle, Huron-Bruce, Ontario
  Conservative MP Art Hanger, Calgary Northeast, Alberta
  Conservative MP Jeff Watson, Essex, Ontario
  Conservative MP Dr. James Lunney, Nanaimo-Alberni, B.C
  Conservative MP Pierre Lemieux, Glengarry-Prescott-Russell, Ontario
  Conservative MP David Anderson, Cypress Hills – Grasslands, Saskatchewan
  Conservative MP Rona Ambrose, Spruce Grove, Edmonton
  Conservative MP Norm Doyle, St. John’s East, Newfoundland
  Conservative MP, Mike Allen, Tobique-Mactaquac, New Brunswick
  Conservative MP Rob Moore, Fundy Royal, New Brunswick
  Conservative MP Brad Trost, Saskatoon-Humboldt, Saskatchewan
  Conservative MP Bev Shipley, Lambton Kent Middlesex, Ontario
  Conservative MP Leon Benoit, Vegreville-Wainwright, Alberta
  Conservative MP Gerry Ritz, Battlefords-Lloydminster, Saskatchewan
  Conservative MP Colin Carrie, Oshawa, Ontario
  Conservative MP Carol Skelton, Saskatoon-Rosetown-Biggar

  Sign the On Line Petition: “Rescind Order of Canada From Morgentaler”