PARIS, March 2, 2001 ( – The first international treaty banning human cloning entered into force Thursday after being ratified by five member states of the Strasbourg-based Council of Europe, according to a UPI report. So far, 24 out of the 41 members of the European Council have signed the Additional Protocol to the Council of Europe Convention on Human Rights and Biomedicine. The signatories include some European Union countries, including France, Luxembourg, Sweden and Italy. But others, including Britain, Belgium and Germany, have not signed the protocol.

For more see the UPI report at: