TORONTO, August 5, 2003 ( – A Toronto Star survey of Ontario Liberal Members of Parliament has found that a majority oppose their government’s own legislation to legalize homosexual ‘marriage’.  The Star reports, “The poll of 79 MPs found 36 backbenchers who oppose the move and only 15 who support it. Even when members of cabinet – who are required to support government legislation – are counted, opponents outnumber supporters 36-32. Another 11 MPs reached by the Star were undecided.”  MPs named in the story as opposed to homosexual marriage are:  Sarkais Assadourian (Brampton Centre)  Eugene Bellemare (Ottawa-Orleans)  Raymond Bonin (Nickel Belt)  John Bryden (Ancaster-Dundas-Aldershot)  John Cannis (Scarborough Centre)  Murray Calder (Dufferin-Peel-Wellington-Grey)  Brenda Chamberlain (Guelph-Wellington)  Joe Comuzzi (Thunder Bay-Superior North)  Roy Cullen (Etobicoke North)  Roger Gallaway (Sarnia-Lambton)  Albina Guarnieri (Mississauga East)  Ovid Jackson (Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound)  Jim Karygiannis (Scarborough Agincoourt)  Walt Lastewka (St. Catherines)  Judy Longfield (Whitby-Ajax)  Gurbax Singh Malhi (Bamalea-Gore-Malton)  Dennis Mills (Toronto Danforth)  John Maloney (Erie Lincoln)  John McKay (Scarborough East)  Dan McTeague (Pickering-Ajax-Uxbridge)  Pat O’Brien (London-Fanshawe)  John O-Reilly (Halibuton-Victoria-Brock)  Janko Peric (Cambridge)  Gary Pillitteri (Niagara Falls)  Jerry Pickard (Chatham-Kent Essex)  Carmen Provenzano (Sault Ste. Marie)  Julien Reed (Halton)  Benoit Serre (Timiskaming-Cochrane Judy Sgro (York West)  Bob Speller (Hakdimand-Norlfolk-Brant)  Paul Szabo (Mississauga South)  Rose Marie Ur (Lambton-Kent-Middlesex)  Joe Volpe (Eglinton-Lawrence)  Tom Wappel (Scarborough Southwest)  Brian Wilfert (Oak Ridges)  Bob Wood (Nipissing)  Szabo estimates that 80 of the 171 Liberal MPs opposed would be enough to defeat the legislation.  The 63 members of the Canadian Alliance and several Tory MPs are expected to vote against the legislation.  The paper also reports that most of the Bloc Québécois’ 34 MPs and the NDP’s 14 members are expected to support the legislation.  See the Toronto Star coverage: