By John-Henry Westen

OTTAWA, March 10, 2008 ( – The second reading vote on the Unborn Victims of Violence Act was a very educational moment for the voting public in Canada.  With the record of the vote, the public has been given – with respect at least to those Members who turned up for the vote – a clearer view of just who are the pro-abortion extremist Liberal Party MPs in Parliament.

While the vote was not able to distinguish those who are pro-life from those who are not, it was able to identify those so radically in favour of abortion they could not even bring themselves to vote in support of legislation promoting a woman’s right to choose life for her child – on a bill that had nothing to do with abortion.

National polling released last October found that even among Canadians who support abortion at any stage in the pregnancy, a majority – 55% – are in favour of “legislation making it a separate crime to injure or kill a foetus during an attack on the mother” – which is the intent of bill C-484. reported last week that the Bloc Quebecois voted unanimously against the bill, and a lone member of the NDP gave the bill support while the remainder of the Party opposed it.  Moreover Prime Minister Steven Harper and all the Conservatives except for four of them supported the legislation.  (see coverage: The Four Conservatives Who Voted Against the Unborn Victims of Crime Act )

The Liberal vote on the bill however was a mixed bag.  Twenty seven Liberals voted to support bill C-484 while 55 voted against it.  Liberal Leader Stephane Dion was not present but at home with his wife hosting a party in honor of International Women’s Day.  Attendees at the party were, according to Parliament Hill buzz, less than pleased with the result of the vote.  And, according to that same buzz, Dion assured them that on final reading the Liberals would be out in force to try to vote down the bill.

Here is a rundown compiled by of the way the Liberal Members voted on C-484

Voting Against were:

Alghabra, Omar – Mississauga-Erindale, Ontario  
  Bagnell, Larry – Yukon  
  Bains, Navdeep – Mississauga-Brampton South Ontario
  Barnes, Sue – London West Ontario
  Beaumier, Colleen –  Brampton West Ontario  
  Bélanger, Mauril  – Ottawa-Vanier Ontario  
  Bell, Don – North Vancouver British Columbia  
  Bennett, Carolyn –  St. Paul’s Ontario  
  Bevilacqua, Maurizio – Vaughan Ontario  
  Boshcoff, Ken – Thunder Bay-Rainy River Ontario 
  Brison, Scott – Kings-Hants Nova Scotia 
  Brown, Bonnie – Oakville Ontario 
  Cotler, Irwin – Mount Royal Québec 
  Cuzner, Rodger – Cape Breton-Canso Nova Scotia 
  D’Amours, Jean-Claude – Madawaska-Restigouche New Brunswick 
  Dhalla, Ruby – Brampton-Springdale Ontario 
  Dryden, Ken – York Centre Ontario 
  Easter, Wayne – Malpeque Prince Edward Island 
  Folco, Raymonde – Laval-Les Îles Québec
  Fry, Hedy – Vancouver Centre British Columbia
  Godfrey, John – Don Valley West Ontario  
  Goodale, Ralph – Wascana Saskatchewan  
  Holland, Mark – Ajax-Pickering Ontario
  Ignatieff, Michael – Etobicoke-Lakeshore Ontario
  Jennings, Marlene – Notre-Dame-de-Grâce-Lachine Québec
  Kadis, Susan – Thornhill Ontario  
  Keeper, Tina – Churchill Manitoba  
  LeBlanc, Dominic – Beauséjour New Brunswick  
  Marleau, Diane – Sudbury Ontario  
  -Martin, Keith – Esquimalt-Juan de Fuca British Columbia  
  Matthews, Bill – Random-Burin-St. George’s Newfoundland and Labrador  
  McCallum, John – Markham-Unionville Ontario  
  McGuinty, David – Ottawa South Ontario  
  Minna, Maria – Beaches-East York Ontario  
  Murphy, Brian – Moncton-Riverview-Dieppe New Brunswick  
  Neville, Anita – Winnipeg South Centre Manitoba  
  Patry, Bernard – Pierrefonds-Dollard Québec  
  Pearson, Glen – London North Centre Ontario  
  Proulx, Marcel – Hull-Aylmer Québec  
  Ratansi, Yasmin – Don Valley East Ontario
  Redman, Karen – Kitchener Centre Ontario 
  Regan, Geoff – Halifax West Nova Scotia  
  Rodriguez, Pablo – Honoré-Mercier Québec
  Rota, Anthony – Nipissing-Timiskaming Ontario
  Russell, Todd – Labrador Newfoundland and Labrador  
  Savage, Michael – Dartmouth-Cole Harbour Nova Scotia  
  Scott, Andy – Fredericton New Brunswick  
  Sgro, Judy – York West Ontario  
  Silva, Mario – Davenport Ontario  
  Simms, Scott – Bonavista-Gander-Grand Falls-Windsor Newfoundland and Labrador 
  St. Denis, Brent – Algoma-Manitoulin-Kapuskasing Ontario  
  Telegdi, Andrew – Kitchener-Waterloo Ontario  
  Temelkovski, Lui – Oak Ridges-Markham Ontario 
  Turner, Garth – Halton Ontario  
  Wilfert, Bryon – Richmond Hill Ontario 

Voting in support of Bill C-484 were:

Bonin, Raymond – Nickel Belt Ontario  
  Cannis, John – Scarborough Centre Ontario  
  Chan, Raymond – Richmond British Columbia  
  Cullen, Roy – Etobicoke North Ontario  
  Dhaliwal, Sukh – Newton-North Delta British Columbia 
  Guarnieri, Albina – Mississauga East-Cooksville Ontario  
  Hubbard, Charles – Miramichi New Brunswick  
  Karygiannis, Jim – Scarborough-Agincourt Ontario 
  Lee, Derek – Scarborough-Rouge River Ontario  
  MacAulay, Lawrence – Cardigan Prince Edward Island  
  Malhi, Gurbax – Bramalea-Gore-Malton Ontario  
  Maloney, John – Welland Ontario  
  McGuire, Joe – Egmont Prince Edward Island 
  McKay, John – Scarborough-Guildwood Ontario
  McTeague, Dan – Pickering-Scarborough East Ontario
  Murphy, Shawn – Charlottetown Prince Edward Island 
  Pacetti, Massimo – Saint-Léonard-Saint-Michel Québec  
  Scarpaleggia, Francis – Lac-Saint-Louis Québec  
  Simard, Raymond – Saint Boniface Manitoba  
  St. Amand, Lloyd – Brant Ontario  
  Steckle, Paul – Huron-Bruce Ontario  
  Szabo, Paul – Mississauga South Ontario 
  Thibault, Robert – West Nova Nova Scotia  
  Tonks, Alan – York South-Weston Ontario 
  Valley, Roger – Kenora Ontario  
  Wappel, Tom – Scarborough Southwest Ontario  
  Wrzesnewskyj, Borys – Etobicoke Centre Ontario