You have not enabled cookies! This site requires cookies to operate properly. Please enable cookies, and refresh your browser for full functionality.

By Steve Jalsevac

  TORONTO, Ontario, July 7, 2008 ( ) – The following detailed list of individuals to contact in order to have the Order of Canada appointment of Henry Morgentaler revoked has been circulating on the Internet over the past week.

  Campaign Life Coalition, Ontario’s Family Coalition Party, 4MYCANADA and others are strongly encouraging emails, telephone calls, faxes and letters to these people demanding that the appointment of Morgentaler be revoked.

  The minimum contact that has been suggested, as previously reported on LifeSiteNews, is to the Prime Minister, the Governor General and the individual Members of Parliament. However, a number of MPs have been suggesting that the primary focus should be to attempt to influence the Governor General and her staff and all the members of the Advisory Council since that group pushed through the award knowing full well it would be strongly criticised. The list below addresses that group.

  Pro-life leaders and some newspaper columnists are however also taking the Prime Minister to task for his very weak response so far to what is seen as a clear case of an elite unethically using the Order of Canada as a private means to advance their pro-abortion agenda. There are reports that the PM knew about the vote approving the Morgentaler appointment over a month ago but chose to keep it secret until a talking points memo was sent to his caucus the night of Friday June 27.

  See also the popular Facebook Group “Oppose Morgentaler’s Order of Canada”.


  To respectfully contact the offices overseeing the Order of Canada:
  Office of the Governor General
  Ottawa ON K1A 0A1
  [email protected]
  Phone – 613-993-8200
  Toll Free – 1-800-465-6890
  Fax – 613-998-8760


  Ms. Sheila-Marie Cook
  Secretary to the Governor General
  Rideau Hall
  1 Sussex Drive
  Ottawa, Ontario   K1A 0A1
  Direct Line: 613-993-0259 phone / 613-993-1365 fax.
  Tel: 613-993-8200 (main switchboard)
  1 800 465-6890
  Fax : 613-993-1967
  [email protected]

  Ms. Emmanuelle Sajous
  Deputy Secretary
  Order of Canada Chancellery
  Ottawa, Ontario    K1A 0A1
  Tel: 613-998-8731
  1 800 465-6890
  Fax: 613-991-1681
  [email protected]
  ADVISORY COUNCIL MEMBERS – This is the group that directly voted to award the Order of Canada to Henry Morgentaler. As well, information from various sources, and so far not contradicted by anyone on the Council, is that the two government members, Kevin Lynch and Judith LaRocque, opposed the appointment and Beverley McLachlin changed normal procedure to allow a majority vote to nevertheless approve it.

  Rt. Hon. Beverley McLachlin, P.C.
  Chief Justice of Canada
  301 Wellington Street
  Ottawa, Ontario    K1A 0J1
  Tel: 613-992-6940
  Email:  [email protected] , [email protected]
  Mr. Kevin Lynch
  Clerk of the Privy Council
  Langevin Block
  80 Wellington Street
  Ottawa, Ontario   K1A 0A3
  Tel:  613-957-5400
  Email [email protected]
  Ms. Judith LaRocque
  Deputy Minister of Canadian Heritage
  25 Eddy Street
  Gatineau, Québec    K1A 0M5
  Tel:  819-994-1132
  The Chair of the Canada Council:
  Ms. Karen Kain, C.C.
  Chair, Canada Council for the Arts
  Ottawa, Ontario
  Tel: 1-800-263-5588 or 613-566-4414
  Fax: 613-566-4390
  Also can contact: Grace Thrasher: Media and Public Relations,
  1-800-263-5588, ext. 4134 or 613-566-4414, ext. 4134.
  Also: Tel: 416-345-9686 (National Ballet of Canada for Karen Kain)

  The President of the Royal Society of Canada
  Dr. Yvan Guindon, C.M.
  Royal Society of Canada
  170 Waller Street
  Ottawa, Ontario    K1N 9B9
  Tel: 613-991-6990
  Fax: (613) 991-6996
  E-mail (General Inquiries): [email protected]
  Also: Prof. Yvan Guindon, c.m., Directeur, Laboratoire de chimie bio-organique, IRCM, 110, avenue des Pins ouest, Montréal (Québec)    H2W 1R7, Téléphone:  514-987-5785

  The Governor General may, on the recommendation of the members of the Council, appoint five persons belonging to the Order as members of the Council for a three-year term. These are the current 5 such members.

  Mr. Thomas Traves, Ph.D.
  Chair, Board of Directors,  Ass’n of Universities and Colleges of Canada
  350 Albert Street, Suite 600
  Ottawa, Ontario   K1R 1B1
  Tel: 613-563-1236
  Email [email protected]
  Also: Mr. Thomas Traves, Ph.D., President and Vice Chancellor, Dalhousie University, 6299 South Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia    B3H 4H6, Telephone:  902-494-2511
  Dr. Patricia Baird, O.C., O.B.C.
  6174 University Blvd., Room 334
  University of British Columbia
  Vancouver, BC   V6T 1Z3
  Tel: 604-822-6115
  Dr. Daurene Lewis, C.M.
  Nova Scotia Institute of Technology
  P.O. Box 2210
  Halifax, NS    B3J 3C4
  Tel: 902-491-6722 or 902-491-4752

  Mr. L. Jacques Ménard, O.C
  BMO Nesbitt Burns
  1 First Canadian Place
  Toronto, Ontario    M5X 1A3
  Tel: 1-877-873-7664

  Mr. J. Edward Newall, O.C.
  Newall & Associates
  855 2nd Street SW, Suite 3840
  Calgary, Alberta    T2P 4J8
  Tel: 403-508-1940

  Governor General’s Office – Media
  Isabelle Serrurier
  Rideau Hall Press Office
  Tel: 613-998-7280
  Email: [email protected]

  Marie-Eve Letourneau
  Rideau Hall Press Office
  Tel: 613-998-0287
  Email: [email protected]
  Fax: 613 998-1664
  Marie-Paule Thorn
  Honours Media Relations
  Tel: 613-993-2569
  Fax: 613-998-1664

  Juliane Martin
  Honours Policy and Secretariat Services Officer
  Tel: 613-993-0865
  Fax: 613-991-1681

  To respectfully also contact the Prime Minister:

  Prime Minister Stephen Harper
  [email protected]

  Telephone: (613) 992-4211
  Fax:     (613) 941-6900
  Another Ottawa EMail:  [email protected]
  Constituency Offices
  Telephone: (403) 253-7990
  Fax: (403) 253-8203

  To contact members of Parliament:

  By Postal Code

  By Name