WASHINGTON, D.C., August 5, 2011 ( – A top anti “gay bullying” organization has been awarded a long-term grant to to establish “safe spaces” in public schools across America days after the group’s founder left the Obama administration.

The Division of Adolescent and School Health of the U.S. government’s Centers for Disease Control (CDC) has awarded a five-year, $285,000 a year grant to the Gay, Lesbian and Straight Education Network (GLSEN), the gay rights group announced in June as reported by World Net Daily.

GLSEN’s founder is former Obama administration “Safe Schools” Czar Kevin Jennings, who resigned only days before the announced grant to head Be the Change, another national gay rights initiative. Jennings came under major fire from conservative groups and lawmakers for his participation in GLSEN’s lewd youth programs, including explanations of dangerous homosexual sex acts such as “fisting.”

GLSEN in April was involved in a Facebook scandal involving its homosexual school clubs, or Gay Straight Alliances (GSA). A pro-family group recently revealed that the GSA Facebook page linked to numerous explicit homosexual sex hook-up sites, some featuring apparently middle-school-age boys. GLSEN reportedly removed the page hours after it drew media attention. 

On its website, GLSEN states that it aims to implement the “safe spaces” program, which educates against “anti-LGBT bias,” in “every middle and high school in the country.”

The five-year project to be launched this school year, 2011-2012, is slated for implementation in the public school systems of several major U.S. cities including Baltimore, Chicago, Detroit, Houston, Los Angeles, Memphis, New York City, Newark, Philadelphia, San Diego, San Francisco, and Seattle. It is unclear whether elementary schools are to be included.

The CDC recently awarded the former California chapter of GLSEN, now spun off as an independent group called the GSA Network in California, $285,000 a year, WND reports.

GLSEN notes that it has also collaborated with the federal government under both President Bill Clinton and President George W. Bush.