MOSCOW, Sept 26 (LSN) – The Kremlin issued a statement on Friday indicating that Russian President Boris Yeltsin had signed the law “On freedom of conscience and religious organizations”. Catholic World News reported that The law gives legal status only to religions that were active in the country for more than 15 years, essentially meaning Russian Orthodoxy, Judaism, Buddhism, and Islam since all other religions were outlawed by the officially atheist Soviet Union.